Regional History

The Southern Region was formed in 1926 at the 8th National Convention of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. Tuskegee Institute (now Tuskegee University), Fisk University, and Clark College (now Clark Atlanta University) were the first chapters in the Southern Region, which at that time included the states of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. In 1960, at the Sorority’s National Convention, it was determined to create a new region to facilitate service delivery for chapters in the mid-Atlantic states, and North and South Carolina left the Southern Region to become part of the South Atlantic Region.

 The Southern Region holds the distinction of being the largest of the seven regions of the Sorority, with over 200 chapters spread across the diverse area that is Alabama, the Bahamas, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi and Tennessee.

1968Atlanta, GA
1970Memphis, TN
1972Daytona Beach, FL
1974Jackson, MS
1976Mobile, AL
1978Huntsville, AL
1980Fort Lauderdale, FL
1982Chattanooga, TN
1984Birmingham, AL
1986Biloxi, MS
1989Tampa, FL
1991Montgomery, AL
1993Nassau, Bahamas
1995Boca Raton, FL
1997Nashville, TN
1999Birmingham, AL
2001Biloxi, MS
2003Savannah, GA
2005Fort Lauderdale, FL
2007Chattanooga, TN
2009Huntsville, AL
2011Memphis, TN
2014Tampa, FL
2016Orlando, FL
2018Nashville, TN